Marketing Committee Charter

The Marketing Committee will promote the activities of the Domain Name Association and support the board by creating marketing and communications activities that align with the association’s mission, especially as it relates to promoting domain name uptake and usage. The committee will be comprised of board members and marketing professionals who must be employed by a DNA member and will directed by the DNA Executive Director on behalf of the board of directors. All projects of the Marketing Committee will be approved by the DNA Board of Directors.

About the Marketing Committee

TheDNA, with the strong membership base and participation of leading industry players, all work collectively to help educate, engage, and evangelize the benefits, innovation potential and utility of Domain Names, DNS and TLDs as crucial Internet technology.

It is all about spreading the word.  The importance of an industry association like TheDNA is manifested in collaborative discussions held in committees and initiatives that TheDNA are host to.   One of the more active committees in the Domain Name Association, the Marketing Committee, holds meetings on a bi-weekly basis to discuss trends and activities in the industry, planning for important marketing initiatives, conferences, speaking engagements, press dialog, innovation and collaboration within the industry. 

Additionally, lead marketing experts from top companies in the membership work on other essential plans and programs to amplify the activities of members, and special opportunities to collaborate on savings and panel discussions at events, shared booth / expo costs or other efficiencies are gained through the group activities.

 

Group Chair:  Jeff Sass, DotClub

How to Engage

There are bi-weekly meetings by phone and web-video, a mailing list, and an ongoing list of initiatives.  Participation is limited to members and invited guests and participants.

Enrolling is simple for DNA Members:

TheDNA Marketing Committee Meetings are held every other Thursday (unless these occur during an ICANN meeting or well attended industry event such as MERGE, NamesCon, or the ICANN GDD Summit), on a staggered schedule that alternates to accommodate or global membership.

The meeting rotates between Schedule A and Schedule B every two weeks, with exceptions as above and with holidays factored in.

Schedule A:   UTC 16:00

08:00 PST (UTC-8) Seattle / Los Angeles / San Francisco / Vancouver / Las Vegas
11:00 EST (UTC-5) New York / Fort Lauderdale / Reston / Washington DC / Boston
14:00 BRST (UTC-5) Rio de Janiero / São Paulo
17:00 CET (UTC+1) Barcelona / Amsterdam / Vienna / Oslo / Brussels / Luxembourg / Rome / Helsinki / Lisbon / Paris / Stockholm / Bordeaux
18:00 SAST (UTC+2) Cape Town
21:30 IST (UTC + 5:30) Mumbai / Bangalore / Hyderabad / New Delhi / Goa / Chennai
00:00
(next day)
HKT / MYT / CST
SGT / PHT
(UTC+8)
Hong Kong / Kuala Lampur / Beijing / Shanghai / Singapore / Manila
05:00
(next day)
NZDT (UTC+13) Wellington / Aukland

Schedule B:   UTC 16:00

13:00 PST (UTC-8) Seattle / Los Angeles / San Francisco / Vancouver / Las Vegas
16:00 EST (UTC-5) New York / Fort Lauderdale / Reston / Washington DC / Boston
19:00 BRST (UTC-5) Rio de Janiero / São Paulo
22:00 CET (UTC+1) Barcelona / Amsterdam / Vienna / Oslo / Brussels / Luxembourg / Rome / Helsinki / Lisbon / Paris / Stockholm / Bordeaux
23:00 SAST (UTC+2) Cape Town
02:30
(next day)
IST (UTC + 5:30) Mumbai / Bangalore / Hyderabad / New Delhi / Goa / Chennai
05:00
(next day)
HKT / MYT / CST
SGT / PHT
(UTC+8)
Hong Kong / Kuala Lampur / Beijing / Shanghai / Singapore / Manila
10:00
(next day)
NZDT (UTC+13) Wellington / Aukland

Note:  Times shown were sampled using https://www.timeanddate.com in Winter 2018 and reflect Winter timetable and daylight savings in effect at that time.  When in doubt, base times on 11am Eastern and 4pm Eastern for schedules A and B, respectively.

%d bloggers like this: